Yes…I buy organic locally-grown eggs.  However, I did some research before doing so.  I didn’t just buy eggs because they say organic, free range, or cage-free on them.

To me, organic has to do with what they’re fed and (hopefully not) injected with:

  • no hormones
  • no antibiotics
  • organic feed (which has a whole other sort of debate in and of itself)

Whereas, in the US, free range means NOTHING.  It’s a word on a carton.  There is no standards, so just don’t buy it!!  There is no specific set amount of time that a chicken needs to be outside in order to label them “free range”.  Read this article for more info.

A main reason why go for the big O, is mainly because of the quality of the goods (in most cases).  With eggs especially, uncomfortable quarters and poor feed of chicken lead to sub-par eggs.  I can actually taste the difference in the eggs.  Call me crazy all you want.

Happy chickens make happy eggs :)
Happy chickens make happy eggs 🙂

My suggestion is to go to a local co-op or farmer’s market and talk to the producers/farmers.  Get the specifics of how they treat the chickens as well as what they feed them.  Most of them of honest and reliable people who know what they’re talking about, but don’t take my word for it until you talk.

